Find Answers

Find Answers

Specified Languages
British English
English

Contact Us

Merchant Support

Toll-Free Phone:
(877) 447-3938

Support Hours:
24x7
(Closed major holidays)


Reseller Support

Toll-Free Phone:
(888) 437-0481

Support Hours:
M–F: 6 AM – 5 PM PDT
(Closed major holidays)


Affilate Support

Toll-Free Phone:
(866) 682-4131

Support Hours:
M–F: 6 AM – 5 PM PDT
(Closed major holidays)


Corporate Offices

Authorize.Net (Utah)
P.O. Box 947
American Fork, UT 84003-0947
Tel: 801.492.6450
Fax: 801.492.6489

How can I view or edit a user's account?


Doc ID:    A444
Version:    2.0
Status:    Published
Published date:    11/01/2011
Updated:    11/01/2011
 

Answer

You can view or edit a user's account from the User Administration page.

To view or edit a user's account:

  1. Log into the Merchant Interface at https://account.authorize.net.
  2. Click Account from the main toolbar.
  3. Click User Administration.
  4. Click the user's name. Please note that deleted users are not listed.

The availability of some of the options listed below varies by user role. You can do the following from the user's profile page:

  • Reset the user's secret answer
  • Reset the user's password
  • Edit the user's profile information
  • Edit the user's permissions

The user's basic account and contact information is shown at the top of the page and includes the user's First and Last Name, Login ID, User Role, Title, Telephone Number, Email Address, User Status, and the Creation Date for the user account.

Profile and Security Settings

The Profile and Security Settings section allows you to reset the user's secret answer and password, as well as edit the user's profile information and email settings. You may need to reset the user's secret answer or password in the event that they are forgotten or as a routine security update.

Note: Account Contacts cannot access the Merchant Interface and therefore do not have a secret answer or password.

To reset the user's secret answer: 

  1. Click the Reset Secret Answer button. A message window appears asking if you would like to continue.
  2. Click OK to continue, or click Cancel to cancel the action.
  3. Make note of the Temporary Secret Answer.

    Note: The Temporary Secret Answer is not automatically sent to the user. You are responsible to advise the user of the Temporary Secret Answer in a secure manner. At the next login, the user will be required to change the Temporary Secret Answer.
     
  4. Click Continue. The user's secret answer is now reset.

To reset the user's password: 

  1. Click the Reset User Password button. A message window appears asking if you would like to continue.
  2. Click OK to continue, or click Cancel to cancel the action.
  3. Make note of the Temporary Password.

    Note: The Temporary Password is not automatically sent to the user. You are responsible to advise the user of the Temporary Password in a secure manner. At the next login, the user will be required to change the Temporary Password.
  4. Click Continue. The password is now reset.

To edit the user's profile information:

  1. Click the Edit Profile Information button.
  2. Edit the user's First Name, Last Name, Title, Phone Number, Extension, and Email Address(es) as necessary.
  3. If applicable, click the check boxes to select the payment gateway email types you would like the user to receive. Email types left deselected will not be sent to the user.
  4. Click Submit to update the user's profile or click Cancel to cancel the action.

User Permissions

The User Permissions section displays the default permissions associated with the user role and their current configuration. Permissions display as either enabled or disabled according to the symbols shown in the Permissions Key.

For more information about the permissions associated with each user role, please see the User Role Definitions help file.

To edit the user's permissions:

  1. Click Edit Permissions.
  2. If necessary, select a new user role from the User Role drop-down list. The default user permissions associated with the selected user role are automatically listed and enabled.
  3. Click to deselect the boxes next to the user permissions that should not be enabled for the user.
  4. Click Submit to continue or click Cancel to cancel the action. The user's profile page reappears with the updated permissions and/or user role.

 


Rate This Item